Skip to main content
Reference Services

Home Page: Subject Collections

Missouri State Library Reference Services Home

Missouriana

Highlighting culturally and historically significant publications relating to Missouri, this circulating collection contains items such as a selection of local and county histories, folktales and lore specific to Missouri, some biographies of distinguished Missourians, histories relating to the Civil War in Missouri, and texts on the natural history and geography of Missouri.

Library Professional Development Collection

Professional resources available to Missouri public library directors. Search the library catalog of the State Library and find material that can assist you with all areas of librarianship. Find a range of manuals, studies, and other information to help develop and manage library services.

Missouri Libraries Historical Collection

With the objective of preserving and making accessible historical materials relating to Missouri libraries and library development, this non-circulating collection includes reports, monographs, periodicals, surveys, and studies authored by the state library, about the state library, and about library development in the state of Missouri.

Training Media Collection

This collection is comprised of DVDs and supplementary materials emphasizing customer service, harassment prevention, diversity awareness, workplace teambuilding, change management, generational awareness in the workplace, and management skill building. Training Media items are available to circulate to state employees and other Missouri State Library card holders such as public library branch managers and directors.

Government Documents

Reference Services has small, circulating collections of both Missouri state and federal government documents; they can be found in our catalog.  A digital collection of newer Missouri state government documents is maintained in Internet Archive for the State Publications Access Program.  Older state government documents are held in the Missouri State Archives.

MoDOT Transportation Library

The Missouri Department of Transportation (MoDOT) Transportation Library partners with the University of Missouri-Columbia and the Missouri State Library to provide transportation-related collection resources and research services for MoDOT staff.