Katie Dunne
Youth Services Consultant
Missouri State Library
Katie.Dunne@sos.mo.gov
Susannah Gilbert
Project Coordinator
TeachingBooks
help@TeachingBooks.net
Welcome! We are grateful that you've chosen to take a deeper look at the children's and young adult titles in your collections through this initiative from the Missouri State Library. Below (and linked here) find descriptions and registration details for training webinars dedicated to the Missouri Collection Analysis Initiative. See the Office Hours tab on the left for additional support related to the Collection Analysis Initiative.
Each webinar session:
Contact help@TeachingBooks.net with any questions.
Make the most of your book budget with the Collection Analysis Initiative! Learn how these tools can help you collect, document, and analyze data about titles you’re considering adding to a book order or wish list. Find details about recency, genre, curricular area, and more. Identify gaps in existing collections, evaluate titles with Book Resumes, and share lists of potential additions. This webinar is intended for K-12 librarians and educators, but open to anyone working with children’s and young adult books.
Learn about the unique aspects of using Collection Analysis Reports to examine your nonfiction titles. Wondering about how to organize an audit of your nonfiction collections? Curious why some of your nonfiction titles may not appear on TeachingBooks? Review the basics of uploading titles and generating reports as well as exploring how to use the data to inform the management of your nonfiction collections. This webinar is intended for public library staff, but open to anyone working with children’s and young adult books.
Create and analyze collections of picture books to support early literacy. Enhance your reading program components with additional titles and resources that build background knowledge and broaden vocabulary. Reinforce concepts learned during the school year with diverse and engaging lists of titles for families. This webinar is intended for K-12 librarians and educators, but open to anyone working with children’s and young adult books.
It’s almost summer, and your copies of popular titles are already flying of the shelves. Explore ways to use the Collection Analysis Toolkit to find readalikes and create diverse, balanced recommendation lists and displays that meet community needs. Analyze, augment, and promote sets of titles to keep young readers engaged and reading. This webinar is intended for public library staff, but open to anyone working with children’s and young adult books.
