Skip to Main Content
A History of Northwest Missouri
This history of Northwest Missouri seeks to give in simple fashion the story of the beginnings, progress and present condition of the nineteen counties of Missouri forming the northwest section of the state.
Hidden History of Jefferson City
Quite a bit has happened in Missouri's capital city since Lewis and Clark passed through the area on their famous journey. And some of that history has remained hidden. Being the center of politics in the state and possessing a small-town mindset, the city has a dual identity. Burr McCarty turned his humble home and stagecoach stop into a political gathering place.
A People's History of the Lake of the Ozarks
For tourists, the beautiful Lake of the Ozarks must seem in complete harmony with the natural order of its surroundings. Even lifelong natives can struggle to imagine a time when the reservoir created by the Bagnell Dam didn't exist. But beneath the placid waters of the lake that draws bustling visitors to its shores lies the drama of a remote Ozark community suddenly thrust into an urban world.
Arrow Rock, so named because Native Americans once went there to shape their arrowheads from the flint found along the Missouri River, is a small historic village. Today fewer than one hundred people call Arrow Rock home, but its scenic location and rich history continue to attract thousands of visitors every year. In June 1804, the Corps of Discovery passed "the big arrow rock," as William Clark noted in his journal, "a handsome spot for a town . . . the situation is elegant, commanding and healthy, the land about it fine, well-timbered and watered." Settlers soon arrived, some bringing slaves who developed the large farms; the village that was established grew slowly but saw profits from trade on the river. The beginnings of trade in the far west, the gold rush, and the Civil War all had profound effects on the settlers. Meanwhile, area residents were having an effect on the world. George Caleb Bingham, who became known as the "Missouri artist," participated in the founding of the town and built a home there, and Dr. John Sappington, an early resident of Arrow Rock, saved thousands of lives by perfecting a treatment for malaria. Also calling Arrow Rock home were numerous influential politicians, including three governors, M. M. Marmaduke, Claiborne Fox Jackson, and John Sappington Marmaduke. Life changed after the Civil War, and Arrow Rock changed, too. As railroads and major highways bypassed the town, many people moved away and fewer came through. Arrow Rock provides insight into the progression of history and its effects on one small Missouri town. The story of this village, now a historic site, brings to life the history of America: early days of settlement, an era of prosperity and power for some and incredible hardship for others, wars, a decline, and a rebirth. In addition, the long roll call of those who visited the area provides a history of the opening of the West. This book will prove valuable to those interested in Missouri history; the developing nation; and the geographical, political, and recreational forces that were at work as so many came and went. Like a visit to Arrow Rock itself, this book allows readers to step back into history and appreciate a time when the river was the highway.
Springfield's Urban Histories
The eleven essays included in this volume offer the most authoritative account yet published of the distinctively urban history of Springfield, Missouri—the largest city in the Ozarks.
A History of Northeast Missouri
In addition to a large collection of biographies, it includes a history of the following counties: Adair, Audrain, Boone, Callaway, Charlton, Clark, Howard, Knox, Lewis, Lincoln, Linn, Macon, Marion, Monroe, Montgomery, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Randolph, St. Charles, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, Sullivan and Warren.
Hermann, Missouri: One of the Prettiest Towns in America
Hermann, Missouri is a town not only rich in heritage and culture, but also in beauty. In Hermann, Missouri, One of the Prettiest Towns in America, local photographers William Fields and Tony Carosella take you on a tour of Hermann, spotlighting her breathtaking landscapes, her majestic river, her architectural beauty and, of course, her people.
Growing up in St. Francois County
With nearly 100 vintage images and personal stories of growing up in Bonne Terre, James Bequette's informative memoir displays the influence the lead company had on the community, and in turn the love the community had for the St. Joseph Lead Company.
Missouri County Histories Online
The Missouri County History project, sponsored by the State Library, has gathered county histories from all over the state. There are currently 115 volumes in this collection. Some print copies are available in the Missouriana collection.
Missouri Society Directory
A directory of the many historical and genealogical societies throughout the state that work to document the history of a particular town or region.
Local Historical, Museum, and Genealogical Agencies
A list of some local, state, and national resources for historical information.