The National MapThe National Map Viewer provides access to base geospatial information for the landscape of the United States and its territories.
topoViewMaps are from the U.S. Geological Survey topographic series (both current and non-current) and the Historical Topographic Map Collection.
Nature and Environment
Geologic MapsFrom the Missouri Department of Natural Resources, geologic maps show the distribution, composition, age and structure of the various solid materials that make up Earth's crust.
National Geologic Map DatabaseProvides access to geologic maps from the early 1800s to present day by the U.S. Geological Society, State Geological Surveys, and other organizations.
EnviroAtlas Interactive MapMapping tool from the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency providing geospatial data related to ecosystem services such as carbon data, energy potential, land cover, pollution, protected lands, and at-risk species.
Energy AtlasU.S. energy infrastructure, resources, and disruption interactive maps.
Climate HazardsClimate-related hazards affecting U.S. communities in real-time such as wildfire, drought, flooding, extreme heat or cold.
Water
National Water DashboardInteractive map to access real-time water data from over 13,500 stations nationwide.
National Water Prediction ServiceThe water prediction maps from the National Weather Service combine information on water events and long-range water management.
FEMA Flood Map Service CenterLook for a flood map by address, place, or longitude/latitude coordinates to understand flood risk.
USGS WaterWatchAccess real-time water data from over 13,500 stations in streams and rivers nationwide.
Health
CDC PLACESCenters for Disease Control and prevention (CDC) project to report chronic disease measures and health issues in small areas.
HRSA Map ToolU.S. Health Resources & Service Administration map tool to plot facilities, public health data, demographics, and shortage areas.
Education
mapEDNational Center for Education Statistics mapED has mapping tools for datasets related to education.
Missouri Public School DirectoryMap of Missouri's public schools by the Missouri Department of Elementary and Secondary Education.
States
State Agency Database Project MapsA linked list of maps and data from all 50 states and the District of Columbia freely available to the public.
World
Worldview Earth DataFrom NASA, explore past and present satellite perspectives. Imagery layers are updated daily and some are available within three hours of observation.
In this session, we will explore various types of maps, the information they hold, and how to access them easily.
Highways & Transportation
MoDOT Maps by CategoryThe Missouri Department of Transportation provides a numerous amount of maps to assist customers with transportation-related inquiries.
MoDOT Traveler MapThe interactive traveler map shows current traffic, weather-related road conditions, planned road work, work zones, incidents, and other travel-related information on state-maintained routes in Missouri.
Traffic CrashesState of Missouri traffic crashes online mapping from the Missouri State Highway Patrol.
National Highway System MapMap display of the National Highway System (NHS) from the U.S. Department of Transportation.
Route 66Route 66 Corridor Preservation Program from the National Park Service.
OnTheMap for Emergency ManagementOnTheMap for Emergency Management is a public data tool providing U.S. population and workforce statistics in real time for areas being affected by natural disasters.
Enumeration District MapsCensus Enumeration District and Related Maps from 1880-1990. Only part of the collection is available online.
Data
Atlas of Rural and Small-Town AmericaU.S. Department of Agriculture's Economic Research Service socioeconomic indicators map for demographic, job, income, and veteran data.
Federal Geospatial Data MapFederal Geographic Data Committee shares data mapping tools provided by many federal agencies to allow collaboration over cross-agency tools and datasets.
Missouri County Plat Books (1875-1930)The Missouri County Plat Books collection is a selection of county atlases and plat books from all over the state published from 1875-1930. There are currently 141 volumes in this collection.
Plat Maps of Missouri (1875-1921)Digitized plat maps from the State Historical Society of Missouri. County plat books or atlases contain
descriptions of landowners and landmarks.
NOAA Historical Map & Chart CollectionOffice of Coast Survey's Historical Map & Chart Collection covers the lands and waters of the United States including territories and possessions (past and present).
Sanborn Maps LOC CollectionThe Library of Congress fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company.
Sanborn Maps of MissouriThe University of Missouri's digitized Sanborn Fire Insurance Map Company collection.
David Rumsey Map CollectionThis collection covers rare maps of North and South America from the 16th through the 21st centuries
