Library Development | Webinars and Trainings | Library Administration | Cataloging and Metadata | Legal | Business and Workforce Recovery Support | Technology | Inclusive Libraries | Children and Teen Services | By Topic | Adult Services | Friends Groups | Collection Development | Misc. Missouri Government Information
Emergency Preparedness for Libraries by 
The Post-Pandemic Library Handbook
Disaster Response and Planning for Libraries by 
Library Disaster Planning and Recovery Handbook by 
The Public Library Director's HR Toolkit
Library Management 101
Missouri Human Resources Manual
Fostering Wellness in the Workplace: a Handbook for LibrariesContact Reference Services for assistance in finding information about when your library was founded, historic building pictures, early library staff, circulation statistics, and more.
This webinar is a four-part series, presented by Minitex and Minnesota Library Association. The series is designed to give library staff the knowledge they need to do a better job running meetings as well as participating in them. Professional Registered Parliamentarian Pat Reymann will lead the sessions.
Assessment Strategies in Technical Services by
Are you spending money wisely? If you're a technical services manager at an academic library, an administrator, or a dean, you're tasked with proving it. Incorporate assessment and analysis work into your library's existing workflow with the guidance of this new collection from the Association of Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS). Contributors from several academic libraries draw from real-world practices to suggest new approaches for acquisition and collections, cataloging and metadata, digital preservation, and e-resources and serials. You'll find advice on such topics as assessing e-resource budgets, workflows, vendors, and collaborative initiatives; how to use multiple data sets to assess collections across subjects, formats, or other factors; working with data using common applications like Excel, Access, or MySQL; four types of preservation assessment and how to structure them for actionable results; ways to save on serial expenses while avoiding cancellations; seven key considerations for building a data warehouse; and benchmarking techniques for improving metadata processes Exploring your options for assessment will lead you to the right balance of traditional and new metrics, and this book provides a valuable overview.
Introducing RDA : a guide to the basics after 3R by
Since Oliver's guide was first published in 2010, thousands of LIS students, records managers, and catalogers and other library professionals have relied on its clear, plainspoken explanation of RDA: Resource Description and Access as their first step towards becoming acquainted with the cataloging standard. Now, reflecting the changes to RDA after the completion of the 3R Project, Oliver brings her Special Report up to date. This essential primer concisely explains what RDA is, its basic features, and the main factors in its development; describes RDA's relationship to the international standards and models that continue to influence its evolution; provides an overview of the latest developments, focusing on the impact of the 3R Project, the results of aligning RDA with IFLA's Library Reference Model (LRM), and the outcomes of internationalization; illustrates how information is organized in the post 3R Toolkit and explains how to navigate through this new structure; and discusses how RDA continues to enable improved resource discovery both in traditional and new applications, including the linked data environment.
Metadata by
This benchmark text is back in a new edition thoroughly updated to incorporate developments and changes in metadata and related domains. Zeng and Qin provide a solid grounding in the variety and interrelationships among different metadata types, offering a comprehensive look at the metadata schemas that exist in the world of library and information science and beyond. Readers will gain knowledge and an understanding of key topics such as the fundamentals of metadata, including principles of metadata, structures of metadata vocabularies, and metadata descriptions; metadata building blocks, from modeling to defining properties, from designing application profiles to implementing value vocabularies, and from specification generating to schema encoding, illustrated with new examples; best practices for metadata as linked data, the new functionality brought by implementing the linked data principles, and the importance of knowledge organization systems; resource metadata services, quality measurement, and interoperability approaches; research data management concepts like the FAIR principles, metadata publishing on the web and the recommendations by the W3C in 2017, related Open Science metadata standards such as Data Catalog Vocabulary (DCAT) version 2, and metadata-enabled reproducibility and replicability of research data; standards used in libraries, archives, museums, and other information institutions, plus existing metadata standards' new versions, such as the EAD 3, LIDO 1.1, MODS 3.7, DC Terms 2020 release coordinating its ISO 15396-2:2019, and Schema.org's update in responding to the pandemic; and newer, trending forces that are impacting the metadata domain, including entity management, semantic enrichment for the existing metadata, mashup culture such as enhanced Wikimedia contents, knowledge graphs and related processes, semantic annotations and analysis for unstructured data, and supporting digital humanities (DH) through smart data. A supplementary website provides additional resources, including examples, exercises, main takeaways, and editable files for educators and trainers.
Metadata for Digital Collections by
Since it was first published, LIS students and professionals everywhere have relied on Miller's authoritative manual for clear instruction on the real-world practice of metadata design and creation. Now the author has given his text a top to bottom overhaul to bring it fully up to date, making it even easier for readers to acquire the knowledge and skills they need, whether they use the book on the job or in a classroom. By following this book's guidance, with its inclusion of numerous practical examples that clarify common application issues and challenges, readers will learn about the concept of metadata and its functions for digital collections, why it's essential to approach metadata specifically as data for machine processing, and how metadata can work in the rapidly developing Linked Data environment; know how to create high-quality resource descriptions using widely shared metadata standards, vocabularies, and elements commonly needed for digital collections; become thoroughly familiarized with Dublin Core (DC) through exploration of DCMI Metadata Terms, CONTENTdm best practices, and DC as Linked Data; discover what Linked Data is, how it is expressed in the Resource Description Framework (RDF), and how it works in relation to specific semantic models (typically called "ontologies") such as BIBFRAME, comprised of properties and classes with "domain" and "range" specifications; get to know the MODS and VRA Core metadata schemes, along with recent developments related to their use in a Linked Data setting; understand the nuts and bolts of designing and documenting a metadata scheme; and gain knowledge of vital metadata interoperability and quality issues, including how to identify and clean inconsistent, missing, and messy metadata using innovative tools such as OpenRefine.
And more titles in our catalog.
Missouri Department of Economic Development:
For more information and to register with NicheAcademy to watch Ryan Dowd webinars, please contact Adult Services Consultant Merideth Johnson at Merideth.Johnson@sos.mo.gov.
The Librarian's Guide to Homelessness by 
25 Ready-To-Use Sustainable Living Programs for Libraries by 
