Missouri public library directors and branch managers may apply for a State Library card.

The State Library will issue one card per library location or branch.

State Library cards will be issued in the name of the library director or branch manager. Directors and managers are encouraged to borrow items on behalf of their staff for professional development.

The cardholder is responsible for the card and any items borrowed with the library card. 

State Library cardholders agree to: 

• promptly return all materials checked out to the card
• replace any materials lost, stolen or damaged while checked out to the card
• notify Reference Services if the library card is lost or stolen
• comply with copyright restrictions
• comply with all State Library policies

All library patrons are responsible for maintaining our library collections. Library use is a privilege extended to those who recognize that the collections are resources to be shared with current and future patrons and who observe the regulations and procedures established to make materials accessible to all.

Abusing library materials may result in the revocation of library borrowing privileges. Inappropriate use includes, but is not limited to:

• Writing on, defacing, tearing, cutting, mutilating or destroying books or other library property.
• Any other damage, such as highlighting, writing notes, water damage, food stains, etc.
• Retaining library materials beyond their stated loan periods.

Library cards are valid for one year. After one year, an expiration notice will be emailed to the cardholder, and the cardholder may choose to renew the card at that time.

If a cardholder leaves employment with a Missouri public library, please let Reference Services know as soon as possible.

Borrowed items will be sent to public libraries and branches via the MALA courier. 

If a library does not participate in the MALA courier system, borrowed items will be shipped via UPS. Items then must be returned via UPS at your own cost.

Items may be borrowed from the following circulating collections: 

• Library Professional Development Collection
• General Collection
• Missouriana Collection
• MoDOT Collection
• State Documents Collection
• Federal Documents Collection

Items from the Training Media Collection, Missouri Libraries Historical Collection, and Reference Collection are not available for check out. Scans may be requested through our Request a Scan service.

Items are checked out for 28 days with two renewals possible, if no holds are placed on the item.

Cardholders can renew items by visiting the My Library Account section of the catalog or by contacting Reference Services.

Cardholders agree to promptly return all materials checked out to their card.

25 items may be checked out to one card at a time.

No, licensed digital resources and MOBIUS borrowing are not available to public library cardholders.

Freely available government documents and information are available to you and your patrons.

Books are inspected for damage before they are checked out to the cardholder. The cardholder will be held responsible for any damage beyond normal wear and tear that is not noted by the library.

The cardholder is responsible for any item that is lost or returned damaged.

If an item is damaged or lost, a replacement copy, or payment for a replacement copy, will be required to clear the patron’s account. The replacement copy must be the same or a newer edition of the damaged item. The replacement copy must be approved by the Director of Reference Services. Contact Reference Services for details regarding replacement or payment.