Skip to main content
Reference Services

Home Page: Find Articles

Missouri State Library Reference Services Home

About the Databases

The databases are available to Missouri state government employees in their offices and remotely. For remote access, state employees can use their Missouri State Library card number. Don't have a card? Get a Library Card

Please contact us at libref@sos.mo.gov or (573) 751-3615 with any questions.

EBSCO

 

This searches databases from EBSCO, including those below.


Academic Search Premier
An expansive scholarly research database, with multidisciplinary content from thousands of journals, magazines, and other periodical publications.
Business Source Premier
A research database containing reports and articles from business-specific information sources.
Consumer Health Complete
A comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. Drug and herb information, images and diagrams, news and videos are included.
Environment Complete
Deep coverage of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine and freshwater science, pollution, environmental law and more. Provides full-text coverage of hundreds of key journals in the field.
ERIC
Education research and information from the Institute of Education Sciences of the U.S. Department of Education.
GreenFILE
A research database of scholarly reports and government documents focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment.
Human Resources Abstracts
Access to bibliographic records covering essential areas related to human resources, including human resources management, employee assistance, organizational behavior and other areas of relevance to the discipline.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Covers librarianship, classification, information management, and more, including periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings dating back to the 1960s.
MasterFILE Premier
Provides full-text access to magazines, reference books, and primary source documents on a vast array of topics.
MEDLINE
Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and more.
Newspaper Source
Selective full-text access to hundreds of regional, national and international newspapers, and television and radio transcripts from groups such as CBS News, CNN, FOX News and NPR.
Professional Development Collection
Includes full-text articles from hundreds of high-quality education journals.
Science Reference Center
Contains hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other sources.
Teacher Reference Center
Provides abstracts of primarily peer-reviewed periodicals covering assessment, best practices, continuing education, research, curriculum development, instructional media, school administration and teacher education.
Violence & Abuse Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to violence and abuse, including family violence, sexual assault, emotional abuse, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.

Databases from Other Providers

AtoZ databases
A dynamic business search tool featuring extensive business profiles. Searches can be performed by business name, or lists can be generated by geography, industry codes and other indicators. Also contains a person locator and telephone search component.
Business Insights: Essentials
A collection of company profiles and histories.
FDsys: Federal Digital System
Provides free online access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government.
General Reference Center
A general interest database including newspapers, reference books and other periodicals.
LearningExpress Library
A collection of tutorials and practice tests on a wide variety of topics.
PubMed
Includes citations for biomedical literature, life science journals and ebooks.
SciTech Connect
Science, technology and engineering research from the U.S. Department of Energy.
State Capital Universe
Allows keyword searching of bills, statutes and state regulations from each state. Case notes and opinions are linked to some statute records.

Interlibrary Loan

Didn't find what you were looking for? State employees can give us the details, and we will try to locate the item. Fill out our interlibrary loan form or contact us at libref@sos.mo.gov or (573) 751-3615.

Database Content

The Library licenses these databases from vendors who are responsible for their content.