Guides: Department Guides: Public Safety

Featured Titles

Military-To-Civilian Success for Veterans and Their Families

Missouri Veterans: Monuments and Memorials

Digital Resources from EBSCO

Articles, eBooks, and periodicals covering a variety of disciplines.

Digital Resources from ProQuest

Articles, eBooks, theses, and more covering agricultural, behavioral, biological, environmental, and health sciences.

Useful Links

Federal

Missouri

For historical Missouri documents and records, contact the State Archives at archref@sos.mo.gov or 573.751.3280.

Forensic Science and Medicine titles

Forensic Science International (Online)

Forensics
Forensics goes behind the scenes with some of these top-level professionals and their groundbreaking research, drawing on original interviews and firsthand experience on scene with top forensic scientists. Along the way, we discover how maggots collected from a corpse can help determine time of death; how a DNA trace a millionth the size of a grain of salt can be used to convict a killer; and how a team of young Argentine scientists led by a maverick American anthropologist were able to uncover the victims of a genocide.
Written in Bone
Written in Bone is full of entertaining stories that read like scenes from a true-life CSI drama, infused with humor and no-nonsense practicality about the realities of corpses and death.
Fundamentals of Forensic DNA Typing (eBook)
Fundamentals of Forensic DNA Typing is written with a broad viewpoint. It examines the methods of current forensic DNA typing, focusing on short tandem repeats (STRs). It encompasses current forensic DNA analysis methods, as well as biology, technology and genetic interpretation. This book reviews the methods of forensic DNA testing used in the first two decades since early 1980's, and it offers perspectives on future trends in this field, including new genetic markers and new technologies. Furthermore, it explains the process of DNA testing from collection of samples through DNA extraction, DNA quantitation, DNA amplification, and statistical interpretation. The book also discusses DNA databases, which play an important role in law enforcement investigations. In addition, there is a discussion about ethical concerns in retaining DNA profiles and the issues involved when people use a database to search for close relatives.

Freely Available Information and Publications

Open Access journals

WayBack Machine

Take a stroll down memory lane with the WayBack Machine!

View a snapshot of the Department of Public Safety website on:

Training Media for State Employees

Featured Title: Learn to Lead: Lessons with Captain "Sully" Sullenberger

Learn to Lead offers key insights to help employees embrace their roles as leaders and show them how to make a transformative impact on ethics, morale, teamwork, and productivity within their organization. Whether your trainees are front-line, stepping-up or seasoned leaders, this program will offer development of leadership skills and how they can be seen in each and every employee, no matter what their position is.

Reference Services provides an extensive collection of training videos with leader guides for use by state employees in the following topics for individual or group use:

Diversity
Harassment
Customer Service
Leadership
Management
and more!

You can see the full listing of our training media in our catalog. All of our resources can be checked out with a Missouri State Library Card.

Borrow and download audiobooks and eBooks, within your browser or through the Libby app!

You will need a Missouri State Library card to borrow materials.

Need help signing in? View our Accessing OverDrive and Libby tutorial!

Governor's Executive Orders - available online

Homeland Security Digital Library

Homeland Security Digital Library provides documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management.

Free Government Resources

Search or browse the digital collection of Missouri state government publications in Internet Archive.

View DPS publications here.

Visit the State Agency Databases Project to find links to public databases created by the state governments of all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Search for databases by state or by subject, including Crime, Criminal Justice & Law Enforcement and Military & Veterans.

View the list of Missouri State Agency Databases.

View the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms, and Explosives (ATF) Publications Library with publications concerning the regulated industries as well as documents to inform the general public.

The COPS Office Resource Center publishes materials for law enforcement and community stakeholders to use in collaboratively addressing crime and disorder challenges.

The Missouri State Library participates in the Federal Depository Library Program, administered by the Government Publishing Office (GPO) in Washington, DC. The Missouri State Library provides access to federal government resources and assistance in finding federal government information on our Federal Government Information Guide.

Maps and Data

Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Our Social Explorer database is available to help DPS employees create maps and reports featuring Census data.

Civilian/Veteran Population 18 Years and Over in Missouri

Video Tutorial

Business Directory and White Pages

Reference Solutions (ReferenceUSA) This link opens in a new window
A directory to millions of US businesses and residents which can be exported to Excel.

Business lists can be produced using criteria such as industry type, number of employees, geographic location, and executive gender and ethnicity.
U.S. White Pages can look up millions of consumers, lifestyles, and homeowners.