Guides: Department Guides: Higher Education & Workforce Development

Library Resources for Higher Education & Workforce Development

Access more eBooks through the EBSCO eBook Collection (browser). Or get the EBSCO Mobile app.

Access more eBooks & Audiobooks through the MOBIUS OverDrive Collection (browser). Or get the Libby app.

Search more Access Video On Demand Collection.

Materials on a great variety of subjects from our partner libraries throughout Missouri.

Need help? Try our MOBIUS tutorial.

To access library resources at home, or to check out library materials, you'll need a Missouri State Library card!

Apply for a card from the Get a Library Card page of our main website.

Digital Resources from EBSCO

Articles, eBooks, and periodicals covering a variety of disciplines.

Digital Resources from ProQuest

Articles, eBooks, theses, and more covering agricultural, behavioral, biological, environmental, and health sciences.

More Digital Resources

Access Video on Demand
Stream thousands of documentaries and instructional videos on a variety of topics.
Credo Reference
Credo Reference provides Topic Pages, which offer background information on a particular topic that can give you an easy starting point and pathways for further research.
Libby|Overdrive
Access audiobooks and eBooks through your browser or the Libby app.
Access audiobooks and eBooks through your browser
[State Library card required]
Reference Solutions (ReferenceUSA)
A directory to millions of US businesses and residents which can be exported to Excel.
Social Explorer
Create maps and tables from a variety of current and historical data at the national, state and local levels.

Education Resources Information Center (ERIC)
ERIC indexes a wide variety of free, peer-reviewed, full-text education materials that can help support the work of academics, researchers, educators, policymakers, and the general public. ERIC can also be searched within EBSCO.
Missouri Government Publications
Search or browse the digital collection of state agency publications in Internet Archive. View Department of Higher Education publications here and Workforce Development here.
State Agency Databases
Links to publicly searchable databases produced by agencies of the 50 state governments of the United States plus the District of Columbia.

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses
Find dissertations and theses made available in ProQuest.
MOspace (University of Missouri)
The MOspace Institutional Repository is a digital repository for creative and scholarly works and other resources created by faculty, students, and staff at the University of Missouri--Columbia and the University of Missouri--Kansas City.

Tip: Many colleges & universities have online repositories which provide access to recently published scholarly work like theses and dissertations.

Theses and dissertations not found online may be borrowed through an interlibrary loan request.

Adult and Continuing Education Commons Adult and Continuing Education Commons brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Powered by Digital Commons Network.
The Condition of Education The Condition of Education is a congressionally mandated annual report from the National Center for Education Statistics. The report contains key indicators on the condition of education in the United States at all levels, from prekindergarten through postsecondary, as well as labor force outcomes and international comparisons.
Educational Testing Service Research Report Series The Educational Testing Service is committed to making its research freely available to the professional community and to the general public. Published on behalf of the ETS and accessed via Wiley Online Library.
Education Law Commons Education Law Commons brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Powered by Digital Commons Network.
Education Sciences Education Sciences is an international peer-reviewed open access journal published monthly online by MDPI.
Higher Education Commons Higher Education Commons brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Powered by Digital Commons Network.
IntechOpen: Education Peer-reviewed open access eBooks in Education.
Secondary Education Commons Secondary Education Commons brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Powered by Digital Commons Network.
Vocational Education Commons Vocational Education Commons brings together free, full-text scholarly articles from hundreds of universities and colleges worldwide. Powered by Digital Commons Network.

For more Open Access education and economics journals, search the Directory of Open Access Journals.

All Things Missouri Your gateway for interactive mapping, reports, and insights into issues facing Missourians (MU Extension).
Database of Accredited Postsecondary Institutions and Programs The DAPIP contains information reported to the U.S. Department of Education directly by recognized accrediting agencies and state approval agencies. The database reflects additional information as it is received from recognized accrediting agencies and state approval agencies. This reported information is not audited.
Institute of Education Sciences The Institute of Education Sciences (IES) is the statistics, research, and evaluation arm of the U.S. Department of Education.
Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System A branch of the IES. The IPEDS is your primary source for information on U.S. colleges, universities, and technical and vocational institutions.
Missouri Census Data Center The official source for U.S. Census data for the state of Missouri.
U.S. Census Bureau: Educational Data The Census Bureau provides information on a variety of educational topics, from educational attainment and school enrollment to school costs and financing.
US Department of Labor Statistics Statistics for Bureau of Labor Statistics, Occupational Safety and Health Administration, and Mine Safety and Health Administration.
What Works Clearinghouse The IES's WWC reviews the existing research on different programs, products, practices, and policies in education in order to provide educators with the information they need to make evidence-based decisions.

Missouri

Missouri Code of State Regulations The rules and regulations for all Missouri state agencies. Updated monthly.
Missouri Constitution Missouri Constitution online.
Missouri Register Contains emergency rules, proposed rules and final orders of rulemaking for the State of Missouri. Published twice a month.
Revised Statutes of Missouri (RSMo)

United States

Congressional Research Service (CSR) Reports CRS Reports, or the reports and research projects provided to Congress as part of CRS’s duty to provide timely, objective, and authoritative research and analysis to committees and Members of both the House and Senate, are available through Congress.gov.
Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs (OIRA)
Regulations.gov The types of regulations that can be found on this site include Proposed Rules and Rules, as well as Notices from the Federal Register. Documents such as Public Comments and Supporting and Related Materials are often associated with these regulations, and can also be found on this site.
Summary of the Major Laws of the Department of Labor The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) administers and enforces more than 180 federal laws. These mandates and the regulations that implement them cover many workplace activities for about 150 million workers and 10 million workplaces.
United States Constitution
United States Constitution Annotated Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation (Constitution Annotated), provides a summary of U.S. Constitutional provisions and the leading U.S. Supreme Court decisions that interpret them, is available through Congress.gov.
US Department of Education Laws & Guidance
Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) WIOA is designed to strengthen and improve the nation’s public workforce development system by helping Americans with barriers to employment, including individuals with disabilities, achieve high quality careers and helping employers hire and retain skilled workers. Title IV of WIOA amended title I of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

EBSCO Newspaper Source Full-text access to hundreds of regional, national and international newspapers, as well as television and radio transcripts.
Missouri Digital Newspaper Project A growing collection of digitized historic newspapers. These images are freely available to the public and are keyword-searchable.
ProQuest U.S. Newsstream News content from U.S. national, regional, and local newspapers.

Over the course of a lifetime the average person will spend 13 years and 2 months of their lives working, that’s 115,344 hours! Each week listen to the experts from Missouri Training Institute as they get real with insights and inspiration on how to turn those hours from grind to great. Whether you’re a team member or a team leader, these tips and tools are for you, so sit back, laugh, and enjoy. This is the Weekly Workplace.

The Missouri State Library participates in the Federal Depository Library Program, administered by the Government Publishing Office (GPO) in Washington, D.C. The Missouri State Library provides access to federal government resources and assistance in finding federal government information on our Federal Government Information Guide.