Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer, which may result in some display problems. This website works best with the latest versions of modern browsers such as Chrome, Edge, Firefox, and Safari.
Missouri State Library logo

Department Guides

Library Resources for Department of Social Services

Opioids and Opiates: The Silent Epidemic book cover   Medicaid Managed Care book jacket   Encyclopedia of Human Services & Diversity book jacket   Child Support Enforcement Program book cover   Child Abuse book jacket

Search for MORE eBooks through our EBSCO eBook Collection.

Materials on a great variety of subjects from our partner libraries throughout Missouri.

 

Need help? Try our MOBIUS tutorial.

Loading ...
Loading ...
Loading ...

Missouri State Library card front To access library resources at home, or to check out library materials, you'll need a Missouri State Library card! 

Apply for a card from the Get a Library Card page of our main website. 

NEW Resources

Don't know where to start? 

Watch the Credo Reference video tutorial!

Watch the Access Video On Demand video tutorial!

Digital Resources from EBSCO

EBSCO logoArticles, eBooks, and periodicals covering a variety of disciplines.

Digital Resources from ProQuest

search parameters

ProQuest logoArticles, eBooks, theses, and more covering agricultural, behavioral, biological, environmental, and health sciences.

Maps and Data

More examples: 

View the Exploring Social Explorer webinar recording to learn how to make your own maps!

Business Directory and White Pages

  • Business lists can be produced using criteria such as industry type, number of employees, geographic location, and executive gender and ethnicity.
  • U.S. White Pages can look up millions of consumers, lifestyles, and homeowners.

WayBack Machine

Internet Archive WayBack Machine red & black logo

Take a stroll down memory lane with the WayBack Machine!

View a snapshot of the Department of Social Services website on: 

Didn't find what you were looking for?

Use our request form or contact us for help.

Missouri Library Search

Look up libraries in your area with MOLLi, Missouri's online library directory.

Professional Development Guide
Missouri State Library card
Missouri Bicentennial guide
Missouri Publications

Useful Links

Free Government Resources

covers of various Missouri government publicationsSearch or browse the digital collection of Missouri state government publications in Internet Archive. 

View DSS publications here.

GODORT logoVisit the State Agency Databases Project to find links to public databases created by the state governments of all 50 states and the District of Columbia. Search for databases by state or by subject, including Community & Social Services and Health, Medicine & Safety.

Visit the list of Missouri State Agency Databases.

 

govinfo website logoDiscover U.S. Government Information through govinfo.gov, a powerful web portal. Find public papers, legislation, the CFR, and so much more.

 

Federal Government Information guide

Our Federal Government Information Guide contains links to a variety of federal government agencies, websites, databases and digital libraries.

Check out these sites: 

Training Videos for State Employees

Access Video on Demand logo

Find professional development training videos on a variety of topics with Access Video on Demand! Either for personal use or for your staff, there are topics for every aspect of your work life. View the playlists below or discover more with the subject search

Reference Services provides an extensive collection of training videos with leader guides for use by state employees in the following topics for individual or group use:

You can see the full listing of our training media in our catalog. All of our resources can be checked out with a Missouri State Library Card.

Need Help?

color avatar

Laura Kromer
Reference Librarian
573.751.2862
Laura.Kromer@sos.mo.gov
 

Learn more about the library and how to use our resources with a Book-a-Librarian training customized to your department or agency.

Can this guide be more helpful?

Are there research topics or resources of interest not included on this guide? Let us know! 

Fill out this quick survey to share your research needs so we may improve this guide.